S-Curve RecordsWelsh pop idol Tom Jones will issue his latest studio album, Long Lost Suitcase, in the U.S. on December 4. The 13-track collection features an eclectic list of cover tunes, as well as a couple of original songs, and serves as a companion piece to the 75-year-old singer’s recently published memoir, Over the Top and Back.

Long Lost Suitcase includes renditions of The Rolling Stones‘ “Factory Girl,” Hank Williams‘ “Why Don’t You Love Me Like You Used to Do?,” Willie Dixon‘s “Bring It on Home” and Willie Nelson‘s “Opportunity to Cry,” as well as songs by Los Lobos, Dave Van Ronk, Little Willie John and Gillian Welch. The album was produced by Ethan Johns, whose credits include Jones’ previous two albums — 2012’s Spirit in the Room and 2010’s Praise & Blame — and Paul McCartney‘s 2013 record, NEW.

Among the musicians contributing to the record are journeyman guitarist Andy Fairweather Low — who has worked with Eric Clapton and Roger Waters — and drummer Jeremy Stacey of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.

Jones says that he decided to make the album a companion to his memoir because he realized that as he was recording it that each song reflected some of his own experiences throughout his life.

You can preview three songs from Long Lost Suitcase — Tom’s renditions of “Why Don’t You Love Me Like You Used to Do?,” Welch’s “Elvis Presley Blues” and The Milk Carton Kids‘ “Honey, Honey” — at Jones’ official YouTube channel.

Here’s the album’s complete list of songs:

“Opportunity to Cry” (Willie Nelson)
“Honey, Honey” (The Milk Carton Kids)
“Take My Love (I Want to Give It All to You)” (Little Willie John)
“Bring It on Home” (Willie Dixon)
“Everybody Loves a Train” (Los Lobos)
“Elvis Presley Blues” (Gillian Welch)
“He Was a Friend of Mine” (Dave Van Ronk)
“Factory Girl” (The Rolling Stones)
“I Wish You Would” (Billy Boy Arnold)
“‘Til My Back Ain’t Got No Bone” (William Bell)
“Why Don’t You Love Me Like You Used to Do?” (Hank Williams)
“Tomorrow Night” (original song)
“Raise a Ruckus” (original song)

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.