Universal Music GroupA new vinyl box set featuring replica versions of 10 long-out-of-print singles that the legendary British power trio Cream issued during its brief career will be released in the coming weeks. Cream: The Singles 1967-1970 contains 10 seven-inch discs featuring the original mono mixes of 20 songs that first were released on the Reaction, Atco and Polydor labels.

Each single is housed in a newly designed picture sleeve, and the discs are packaged in a “lid-and-tray” box. Among the classic songs included in the collection are “I Feel Free,” “Strange Brew,” “Tales of Brave Ulysses,” “Sunshine of Your Love,” “White Room,” “Crossroads” and “Badge.”

According to Amazon and the Universal Music Group’s press site, Cream: The Singles 1967-1970 will be released on Friday, December 4. However, other some sources, including UniversalMusic.com, have the release date listed as November 26.

Cream, of course, is considered one of rock music’s first supergroups, formed in 1966 by guitarist Eric Clapton, drummer Ginger Baker and bassist Jack Bruce. Internal conflicts, particularly between Baker and Bruce, led to the group’s breakup in 1968, although the band’s music soon became a major influence on the progressive rock and heavy metal genres.

Here is the list of songs included in the Cream: The Singles 1967-1970 box set:

“Wrapping Paper” b/w “Cat’s Squirrel”
“I Feel Free” b/w “N.S.U.”
“Strange Brew” b/w “Tales of Brave Ulysses”
“Spoonful Pt. 1” b/w “Spoonful Pt. 2”
“Anyone for Tennis” b/w “Pressed Rat and Warthog”
“Sunshine of Your Love” b/w “SWLABR”
“White Room” b/w “Those Were the Days”
“Crossroads” b/w “Passing the Time”
“Badge” b/w “What a Bringdown”
“Lawdy Mama” b/w “Sweet Wine”

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.