PRNewsFoto/Universal Music EnterprisesEric Clapton already had established himself as a legendary musician when he launched his solo career in 1970, and over the next decade he only solidified his position as one of the great guitarists, singers and songwriters in rock. Now, a new box set gathering together high-quality vinyl versions of Clapton’s first eight solo albums is scheduled to be released early next year.

The Studio Album Collection 1971-1980 will hit stores on January 29, 2016, and spans Eric’s solo catalog from his self-titled 1970 debut through 1981’s Another Ticket. Each disc has been pressed onto 180-gram vinyl, with packaging replicating the original artwork. Two of the albums featured in the set, Eric Clapton and Derek and the DominosLayla and Other Assorted Love Songs, have been remastered specially for the release.

The collection also features such other classic Clapton records as the 1974 chart-topper 461 Ocean Boulevard and 1977’s triple-platinum-certified Slowhand. Among the many memorable songs featured on the various albums are “After Midnight”, “Let It Rain,” “Cocaine,” “Layla,” “Bell Bottom Blues,” “I Shot the Sheriff,” “Lay Down Sally,” “Wonderful Tonight,” “Promises” and “I Can’t Stand It.”

Here’s the full list of albums featured on The Studio Album Collection 1971-1980:

Eric Clapton (1970)
Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs (1970 — Derek and the Dominos)
461 Ocean Boulevard (1974)
There’s One in Every Crowd (1975)
No Reason to Cry (1976)
Slowhand (1977)
Backless (1978)
Another Ticket (1981)

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.