InsideOut MusicFounding Yes singer Jon Anderson has teamed up with veteran Swedish prog-rock guitarist Roine Stolt to record a collaborative album titled Invention of Knowledge, which will be released on June 24. The project, credited to Anderson/Stolt, came about after Jon joined Roine’s group Transatlantic for a performance during the Progressive Nation at Sea Cruise in 2014.

After to agreeing to work together, Anderson and Stolt spent about a year and a half creating the music for the album, which features four long pieces reminiscent of some of Yes’ early epic songs, only with a modern twist. To record Invention of Knowledge, Stolt put together an ensemble that included American keyboardist Tom Brislin, who took part in the 2002 Yes Symphonic tour, and a variety of respected Swedish progressive rock musicians.

The shortest song on the album is “Know,” which runs 11 minutes and 20 seconds, while the title track clocks in a 23 minutes and 10 seconds long.

“Music is always the driving force in my life,” says Anderson. “Working with such a wonderful musician as Roine Stolt made the creation of this album very unique.”

Stolt, who also plays with the band The Flower Kings, adds, “Jon is an endless source of new ideas. We’ve been bouncing ideas back and forth for months and as a result there are probably dozens of versions of these songs. It’s been a very interesting and rewarding time and the result is just insanely detailed.”

Here is the track list of Invention of Knowledge:

“Knowing” (17:45)
“Everybody Heals” (13:20)
“Invention of Knowledge (23:10)
“Know” (11:20)

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.