Courtesy of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

The 31st annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony takes place tonight at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. Rock acts Cheap Trick, Deep Purple, Chicago and Steve Miller, along with pioneering rap group N.W.A., are the artists entering the Rock Hall in the “Performers” category this evening.

In addition, late songwriter and producer Bert Berns, whose compositions include “Twist and Shout,” “Piece of My Heart” and “Hang On Sloopy,” will be inducted in conjunction with receiving the Ahmet Ertegun Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Among the guest presenters and performers at the event will be Metallica‘s Lars Ulrich, Matchbox Twenty frontman Rob Thomas, Kid Rock, alternative blues-rock band The Black Keys and rap star Kendrick Lamar. Kid Rock will induct Cheap Trick, while Lamar will honor N.W.A. Ulrich is expected to welcome Deep Purple into the Rock Hall, as he’s an outspoken fan and supporter of the group, but that hasn’t been confirmed.

Most, if not all, of the inductees in the “Performers” category — in one form or another — will be taking the stage to play during the ceremony. Cheap Trick has announced that original drummer Bun E. Carlos, who hasn’t performed with the group since 2010, will rejoin the band for the event. Deep Purple’s and Chicago’s current lineups will perform, while the latter group also will welcome its founding drummer, Danny Seraphine, to the stage for part of its performance. Miller, who is being inducted solo, will play with the members of his group, The Steve Miller Band.

The 2016 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be taped for an HBO television special that’s scheduled to premiere on April 30 at 8 p.m. ET.

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.