BMGHot on the heels of the news that The Pretenders will be teaming with Stevie Nicks for a lengthy U.S. fall tour comes word that Chrissie Hynde and her band will be releasing a brand-new studio album in advance of the trek.

Alone, which hits stores October 21, finds Hynde collaborating with Black Keys frontman and fellow Akron, Ohio, native Dan Auerbach, who produced and played a variety of instruments on the album.

Hynde initially planned to release Alone as a follow-up to her 2014 solo debut, Stockholm, but while working on the project she realized that the songs were more sonically aligned with the Pretenders and decided to reactivate the band.

The album was recorded at Auerbach’s Easy Eye Studio in Nashville, and features contributions from members of Dan’s side group The Arcs, as well as from various respected local studio musicians. Among the latter is Johnny Cash‘s one-time bassist, Dave Roe.

In addition, lauded rockabilly guitarist and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Duane Eddy played a guitar solo on a song called “Never Be Together.”

As its title suggests, the album details Hynde’s fondness for solitude.

“We were in the studio hanging out, and the guys were talking about their families and their wives and I said, ‘Well, I do everything alone,'” Chrissie explains. “‘I go to the cinema alone. I go to restaurants alone. I live alone. I pretty much do everything on my own. I don’t mind.’ Dan says, ‘Write a song about it.'”

Alone will be released on CD, as a vinyl LP and digitally. Those pre-ordering the album will receive an instant download of the bonus track “Holy Commotion.” A limited number of CDs signed by Hynde and special bundles can be pre-ordered at

Here’s the track list for Alone:

“Roadie Man”
“Gotta Wait”
“Never Be Together”
“Let’s Get Lost”
“Chord Lord”
“Blue Eyed Sky”
“The Man You Are”
“One More Day”
“I Hate Myself”
“Death Is Not Enough”
“Holy Commotion” (Bonus Track)

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.