Mercury/UMeThis October 29 marks the 45th anniversary of the death of founding Allman Brothers Band guitarist Duane Allman, who was tragically killed in a motorcycle accident at the age of 24. In commemoration of the anniversary, the long-out-of-print two-part 1972 Allman compilation An Anthology will be reissued as a two-LP vinyl set on October 28.

An Anthology includes a selection of recordings that the slide-guitar virtuoso made as a session musician, a solo artist, a collaborator and a member of The Allman Brothers Band. The first disc begins with a B.B. King medley by Duane’s pre-Allmans group Hour Glass, and also features songs by various artists who recorded with him while he worked as a session musician in Muscle Shoals, Alabama. Among these are Aretha Franklin, Boz Scaggs, Wilson Pickett and King Curtis.

Disc two features a collaboration with Delaney & Bonnie & Friends, a duet with Eric Clapton and the classic song “Layla” by the Clapton-led Derek & The Dominos. The retrospective finishes with a side’s worth of Allman Brothers Band tracks, including “Statesboro Blues,” “Dreams” and “Little Martha.”

The standard version of An Anthology will be pressed on 120-gram vinyl, while a limited-edition 180-gram vinyl set also will be available that will be packaged with a replica of the 20-page booklet featured in the original release. You can pre-order the limited-edition version at, as well as a special bundle that includes a T-shirt featuring the album’s cover art.

Here is the track list of Duane Allman’s An Anthology:

LP One

Side A
“B.B. King Medley” (“Sweet Little Angel”/”It’s My Own Fault”/”How Blue Can You Get?”) — Hour Glass
“Hey Jude” — Wilson Pickett
“The Road of Love” — Clarence Carter
“Goin’ Down Slow”– Duane Allman

Side B
“The Weight” — “Aretha Franklin”
“Games People Play” — King Curtis
“Shake for Me” — John Hammond
“Loan Me a Dime” — Boz Skaggs
“Rollin’ Stone” — Johnny Jenkins

LP Two

Side C
“Livin’ on the Open Road” — Delaney & Bonnie & Friends
“Down Along the Cove” — Johnny Jenkins
“Please Be with Me” — Cowboy
“Mean Old World” — Eric Clapton and Duane Allman
“Layla” — Derek & The Dominos

Side D
“Statesboro Blues” — The Allman Brothers Band
“Don’t Keep Me Wondering” — The Allman Brothers Band
“Stand Back” — The Allman Brothers Band
“Dreams” — The Allman Brothers Band
“Little Martha — The Allman Brothers Band

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.