UMeThe Who released its debut album, My Generation, more than 50 years ago, and the band has now revisited that landmark recording and put together an expanded, five-CD box set that will be released November 18. The My Generation: Super Deluxe collection features new mono and stereo mixes of the album, and a variety of mono and stereo bonus tracks that include several previously unreleased tunes, alternate mixes and demos.

The original My Generation, which was released in December 1965 in the U.K., features the classic title track, “The Kids Are All Right” and a cover of James Brown‘s “Please, Please, Please.” Among the bonus tracks on the box set are the early Who singles, “I Can’t Explain” and “Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere.”

The new stereo mix of the album features newly added overdubs by Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey. The unreleased material appearing in the collection includes previously unheard demos from a tape Townshend discovered last year in his audio archive. Among these are three unreleased Who songs — “The Girls I Could Have Had,” “As Children We Grew” and “My Own Love.”

“Gathering these demos for this collection has been enjoyable; it’s wonderful for me to have these tapes made 52 years ago to listen to,” says Townshend in a statement. “I hope you enjoy them.”

The My Generation: Super Deluxe set contains a total of 79 tracks, and comes packaged with an 80-page book featuring rare photo and memorabilia, newly written notes penned by Townshend, and six replica inserts, including two concert posters.

A digital version of the box set also will be available, while three-LP and two-LP vinyl editions of the My Generation reissue will be released February 10, 2017.

Check out the track list of the My Generation reissues at

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.