Credit: Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and MuseumThe nominees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s Class of 2017 have been announced, and among the 19 artists in the running for induction are Electric Light Orchestra, The Cars, The Zombies, Steppenwolf and Journey. ELO, Steppenwolf and Journey are included on the ballot for the first time, as are folk singer Joan Baez, alternative rockers Pearl Jam and Jane’s Addiction, synthpop greats Depeche Mode, hardcore punk band Bad Brains, and late rapper Tupac Shakur.

To be eligible for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, an artist or band has to have released their first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. The cutoff for this year’s class is 1991.

Also included on the list of nominees are Chaka Khan, Chic, J. Geils Band, Joe Tex and Yes.

Starting on October 18 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. on December 5, you can vote for your favorites at The top five artists chosen by the public will make up a “fans’ ballot” that will be included with the other ballots. The final inductees will be announced in December, determined by a voting body of more than 800 artists, music historians and music industry insiders.

The 2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees will be held at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY in April, and will air on HBO.

Here’s the full list of nominees:

Bad Brains
Chaka Khan
Depeche Mode
Electric Light Orchestra
J. Geils Band
Jane’s Addiction
Janet Jackson
Joan Baez
Joe Tex
Pearl Jam
The Cars
The Zombies
Tupac Shakur

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.