Courtesy of Songwriters Hall of FameThe nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame next year have been revealed and there are some big names on the list. Among them: founding Chicago members Peter Cetera, Robert Lamm and James Pankow; Electric Light Orchestra frontman Jeff Lynne; Sly Stone; and Yusuf Islam, a.k.a. Cat Stevens.

Others up for the prestigious honor in the “Performing Songwriters” category include Kool & the Gang‘s Robert “Kool” Bell, Ronald Bell and George Brown; Bread‘s David Gates; Bryan Adams; Madonna; George Michael; and Gloria Estefan.

In the non-performing category, nominees include Tony Macaulay, who wrote The Foundations‘ hits “Baby Now That I’ve Found You” and “Build Me Up Buttercup”; the duo of Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham, who penned The Box Tops‘ “Cry Like a Baby” and many other gems; Kenny Nolan, who songs became hits for Labelle, Frankie Valli and others; P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri, who co-wrote “Eve of Destruction” and “Secret Agent Man”; and William “Mickey” Stevenson, who’s responsible for such classic tunes as “Dancing in the Street” and “Devil with the Blue Dress.”

The Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Annual Induction & Awards Gala will be held June 15, 2017, in New York City. Members of the institution have until December 16 to submit their votes; the inductees then will be revealed at a later date.

To check out a full list of 2017 nominees and find out more about the event, visit

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.