Credit: Gavin EvansThe “Bowie/Collector” auction, featuring more than 400 works of art from the late David Bowie‘s personal collection, takes place today and Friday at Sotheby’s London.

The three-part sale will feature pieces by such acclaimed artists as Jean-Michel Basquiat, Marcel Duchamp, Damien Hirst and Frank Auerbach. The eclectic collection includes examples of Surrealism, Contemporary African Art, Outsider Art, German Expressionist printmaking and more.

Part I of the auction will begin at 7 p.m. Greenwich Mean Time — 2 p.m. ET — and will focus on modern and contemporary art. Part II is scheduled for Friday at 10:30 a.m. GMT — 5:30 a.m. ET — and also will showcase works of modern and contemporary art. Closing out the three-part sale will be an auction beginning at 4 p.m. GMT — 11 a.m. ET — that will include furniture, appliances, household items and other pieces created by the eccentric Italian designer Ettore Sottsass and by the Milan, Italy-based collective of designers known as the Memphis Group.

In a video preview of the auction, Beth Greenacre, the curator of Bowie’s art collection from 2000 until this year, says, “He used his art to understand his place in the world. He was an amazing historian. He was always looking backwards in order to understand the present, and even to prophesize about the future.

Check out more details about the “Bowie/Collector” auction at Sothebys.com.

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.