Forty Below RecordsBritish blues legend John Mayall has unveiled official details about his upcoming studio album, Talk About That, which features a guest appearance by Eagles guitarist Joe Walsh. The 11-track collection will be released on January 27, 2017, and features eight original tunes written or co-written by Mayall, as well as three covers.

As previously reported, Walsh lent his guitar talents two songs — “The Devil Must Be Laughing” and “Cards on the Table” — both of which were penned by Mayall.

Mayall reveals that Walsh nailed his part for “The Devil Must Be Laughing” in one take and also quickly recorded his contributions to “Cards on the Table.”

“[W]ith a smile and a quick photo, Joe was done and on his way,” says John. “What a kick for all of us that day!”

Walsh, meanwhile, says getting to play with the 82-year-old blues great has been “a bucket-list item” for him since 1970, noting that Mayall’s 1960s albums with his group The Bluesbreakers helped introduce Joe to such lauded guitarists as Eric Clapton, Peter Green and Mick Taylor.

“I studied them all for hours and became a much better guitarist as a result,” Walsh maintains. He adds that when he finally got the chance to work with Mayall, “he was the complete gentleman and fine, fine musician I had always hoped he would be. When you meet a hero who helped shape your career — it’s a wonderful feeling to find they’re even cooler than you always thought they were.”

Mayall’s main collaborators on Talk About That were the members of his longtime backing band — bassist Greg Rzab, drummer Jay Davenport and lead guitarist Rocky Athas. However, John recently parted ways with Athas and now is touring as a trio.

Here is the track list of Talk About That:

“Talk About That”
“It’s Hard Going Up”
“The Devil Must Be Laughing”
“Gimme Some of that Gumbo”
“Goin’ Away Baby”
“Cards on the Table”
“I Didn’t Mean to Hurt You”
“Don’t Deny Me”
“Blue Midnight”
“Across the County Line”
“You Never Know”

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.