Yes’ Union Tour lineup, circa 1991 (Ian Dickson/Redferns)It’s been a long runaround for Yes, but the British prog-rock legends finally will be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame this April after three nominations and 23 years of eligibility. The group’s members who were chosen for induction are founding frontman Jon Anderson, bassist Chris Squire, keyboardist Tony Kaye and drummer Bill Bruford; longtime and current guitarist Steve Howe and drummer Alan White; former keyboardist Rick Wakeman; and ex-guitarist Trevor Rabin.

White, who has played with Yes since replacing Bruford in 1972, says “it’s wonderful” to finally be receiving the honor.

“It’s great being recognized by the music business and the public in general [for] everything you’ve done for most of your life,” he tells ABC Radio.

White admits that as happy as he is about Yes’ Rock Hall induction, he’s sad that the band’s longtime leader, Squire, who died of cancer in June 2015, won’t be there for it.

“He was pretty much the big foundation of this band for so many years,” says Alan. “I personally played with him for 43 years, and have now been in the band 44 years, so it’s been a lifetime kind of career for me.”

White and Howe are the only members of Yes’ current lineup being inducted with the band, so the decision of who will perform at the ceremony might get a bit tricky. Alan tells ABC Radio, “We’re gonna have to sit down and try and put our heads together and sort this one out.”

As for why he thinks Yes deserves the honor, White notes, “I feel like the band has established itself in a form of music that really changed the course of one direction of music, and created something new and different that obviously a lot of younger musicians listen to.”

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.