Steve Morley/RedfernsThis year’s 10th anniversary of Record Store Day will bring a bonanza for David Bowie fans — a never-before-released live album from the late legend’s 1974 Philly Dogs Tour and a re-issue of a rare collection of alternate mixes of songs from Hunky Dory that had been released only as a promotional item in 1971.

Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) documents a September 1974 tour stop in L.A. featuring Bowie’s then-new band including guitarist Carlos Alomar, former Sly & the Family Stone drummer Greg Errcio and soon-to-be-R&B-superstar Luther Vandross on backing vocals.

The album was recently mixed by long-time Bowie collaborator Tony Visconti from the original master tapes. It will be released on a five-sided, three-LP set in a gatefold sleeve with newly commissioned artwork and previously unseen photos from the show at the Universal Amphitheatre.

BOWPROMO was originally released as a limited edition, promo-only collection by Bowie’s manager at the time, with seven Bowie songs on the A-side and five songs by a different artist he was managing on the B-side. Five of the seven Bowie songs on BOWPROMO ultimately would be reworked and released on Hunky Dory later that year.

The will be a single-sided, 12-inch LP featuring just the Bowie material in a presentation box with the jacket reproducing the handwritten notes from Bowie’s manager that appeared on the original release. Also included are five prints of Bowie promo photos from the time and new liner notes.

Record Store Day will celebrate its 10th anniversary on April 22. More information about the releases is available at

Here’s the Cracked Actor track list:

Side 1:
“Rebel Rebel”
“Moonage Daydream”
“Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing”

Side 2:
“Suffragette City”
“Aladdin Sane”
“All the Young Dudes”
“Cracked Actor”

Side 3:
“Rock ‘n’ Roll with Me”
“Knock On Wood”
“It’s Gonna Be Me”
“Space Oddity”

Side 4:
“Diamond Dogs”
“Big Brother”

Side 5:
“The Jean Genie”
“Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide”
“John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)”

Side 6:
David Bowie logo etching

BOWPROMO track list:

“Oh! You Pretty Things”
“Eight Line Poem”
“It Ain’t Easy”
“Queen Bitch”
“Bombers/Andy Warhol Intro”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.