Courtesy of Press Here PublicityWith the 50th anniversary of the Monterey International Pop Festival approaching, a new compilation featuring highlights from the historic 1967 concert event will be released on June 9 as a CD and digital download. Iconic Performances from the Monterey International Pop Festival will offer 13 songs from famous artists who played the fest, including previously unissued performances by The Grateful Dead and late singer/songwriter Laura Nyro.

Among the other tracks on the album are live renditions of such classics as Buffalo Springfield‘s “For What It’s Worth,” Simon and Garfunkel‘s “Sounds of Silence,” Jefferson Airplane‘s “White Rabbit,” Big Brother and the Holding Company‘s “Ball and Chain,” The Who‘s “Substitute,” Otis Redding‘s “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long,” Jimi Hendrix‘s cover of Bob Dylan‘s “Like a Rolling Stone,” and The Mamas & the Papas‘ “California Dreamin’.”

The new album also features a 16-page booklet, a replica of the festival’s original artist pass, a new essay penned by NME writer and Monterey Pop attendee Keith Altham, and special gold-foil packaging in honor of the 50th anniversary.

As previously reported, a new Monterey International Pop Festival will be held this year on the fest’s exact 50th anniversary, June 16-18, and at the same location, Monterey County Fairgrounds in Monterey, California. The new concert event’s lineup includes three musicians that played the original festival — Phil Lesh of The Grateful Dead, Eric Burdon of The Animals and Booker T. Jones of Booker T.& the MG’s — plus a variety of contemporary acts.

Meanhwile, a newly restored version of Monterey Pop, the acclaimed documentary about the 1967 festival, will be screened in U.S. theaters in June, and will be released as a home video later this year.

Here the full track list of the Iconic Performances from the Monterey International Pop Festival album:

“For What It’s Worth” — Buffalo Springfield
“Driftin Blues” — Paul Butterfield
“Out in the Cold, Rain and Snow” — The Grateful Dead
“Sounds of Silence” — Simon and Garfunkel
“Poverty Train” — Laura Nyro
“Wine” — The Electric Flag
“White Rabbit” — Jefferson Airplane
“Ball and Chain” — Big Brother and the Holding Company (featuring Janis Joplin)
“Substitute” — The Who
“Bajabula Bonke (Healing Song)” — Hugh Masekela
“I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” — Otis Redding
“Like a Rolling Stone” — Jimi Hendrix
“California Dreamin'” — The Mamas & the Papas

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.