Real World RecordsThe third installment of Peter Gabriel‘s vinyl reissue campaign featuring multiple-LP, half-speed-remastered versions of albums from his back catalog will arrive on July 28.

The records being released as part of the campaign are three soundtrack albums: 1985’s Birdy, 1989’s Passion and 2002’s Long Walk Home.

Birdy, the soundtrack to the 1984 Alan Parker-directed film of the same name, includes several tracks that were based on pre-existing songs from Gabriel’s third and fourth studio albums. Peter co-produced the record with frequent U2 collaborator Daniel Lanois.

Passion was the soundtrack to director Martin Scorsese‘s controversial 1988 biblical drama The Last Temptation of Christ, although Gabriel also included new music that was not heard in the movie. A number of renowned international musicians contributed to the project, including Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Youssou N’Dour and Baaba Maal.

Long Walk Home was the soundtrack to the award-winning Australian flick Rabbit-Proof Fence, directed by Phillip Noyce.

Birdy and Long Walk Home will be available as two-LP sets, while Passion will be a three-LP collection with the last side of Disc Three featuring a laser etching rather than music. All of the albums are packaged in gatefold sleeves and will play at 45 rpm. This will mark the first time Long Walk Home will be issued on vinyl.

“I’ve always loved film music and I’ve been lucky enough create music for three very different kinds of film,” says Gabriel about the soundtracks. “All the films share strong stories and memorable performances. In each case they also have musical directors…who really care about, and feel, the music they work with. They each allowed me to create moods and atmospheres within the music that I felt could serve their narrative.”

Here are the track lists of Gabriel’s soon-to-be-reissued soundtrack albums:


Side A
“At Night”
“Floating Dogs”
“Quiet and Alone”

Side B
“Close Up” (from “Family Snapshot”)
“Slow Water”
“Dressing the Wound”

Side C
“Birdy’s Flight” (from “Not One of Us”)
“Slow Marimbas”
“The Heat” (from “The Rhythm of the Heat”)

Side D
“Sketchpad with Trumpet and Voice”
“Under Lock and Key” (from “Wallflower”)
“Powerhouse at the Foot of the Mountain” (from “San Jacinto”)


Side A
“The Feeling Begins”
“Of These, Hope”
“Lazarus Raised”
“Of These, Hope — Reprise”

Side B
“In Doubt”
“A Different Drum”

Side C
“Before Night Falls”
“With This Love”

Side D
“With This Love — Choir”
“Wall of Breath”

Side E
“The Promise of Shadows”
“It Is Accomplished”
“Bread and Wine”

Side F
Etching (no music)

Long Walk Home:

Side A
“Stealing the Children”
“Unlocking the Door”
“The Tracker”
“Running to the Rain”

Side B
“On the Map”
“A Sense of Home”
“Go Away Mr. Evans”
“Moodoo’s Secret”
“Gracie’s Recapture”

Side C
“Crossing the Salt Pan”
“The Return (Parts 1, 2 and 3)”

Side D
“Ngankarrparni (Sky Blue — Reprise)”
“The Rabbit-Proof Fence”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.