Courtesy of The Recording AcademyThe latest edition of the Grammy Salute to Music Legends event, which celebrates the Recording Academy’s 2017 Special Merit Awards winners, will take place July 11 at the Beacon Theatre in New York City. The gala will feature various tribute performances saluting the honorees, which were announced this past December and include the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Trustees Award and Technical Grammy Award.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees include Sly and the Family Stone frontman Sly Stone and the influential Lou Reed-led band The Velvet Underground, as well as jazz-soul great Nina Simone, powerhouse gospel singer Shirley Caesar, jazz pianist Ahmad Jamal, and country legends Charley Pride and Jimmie Rodgers.

Among the confirmed performers at the event is Rock & Roll Hall of Famer Randy Newman, who’ll salute veteran record executive and Trustees Award honoree Mo Ostin. The gala’s lineup also includes country singer/songwriter Dwight Yoakam, R&B artist Andra Day and gospel star Kirk Franklin, while Paul Shaffer will serve as musical director. More performers will be announced soon.

Tickets for the 2017 Grammy Salute to Music Legends are available now via Ticketmaster. The show will be recorded and will air as an episode of the long-running PBS series Great Performances later this year.

For more details, visit

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.