Reprise RecordsNeil Young has announced plans to issue an archival studio album titled Hitchhiker on September 8. The 10-track collection was recorded live at Indigo Studios in Malibu, California, on August 11, 1976, and features Young accompanying himself on guitar.

Hitchhiker is available for pre-order now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download. Young’s online store is offering exclusive bundles packaging the CD or the LP with a themed campfire mug.

Hitchhiker offers stripped-down early renditions of eight tunes that went on to appear on other Young albums, including “Pocahontas,” “Powderfinger,” “Human Highway,” and the title track, as well as two previously unreleased songs — “Hawaii” and “Give Me Strength.” Young has posted a full preview of Hitchhiker‘s title track on his official YouTube channel — he recorded a new rendition of the same song for his 2010 studio effort, Le Noise.

The original Hitchhiker session was produced by frequent Young collaborator David Briggs, who died in 1995. John Hanlon, who has co-produced many of Neil’s most recent studio efforts, handled post-production duties on the record.

The Hitchhiker album follows the July release of Young’s new original protest tune, “Children of Destiny.”

Here’s the full track list:

“Captain Kennedy”
“Give Me Strength”
“Ride My Llama”
“Human Highway”
“The Old Country Waltz”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.