RhinoA star-studded list of musicians, including current or former members of Aerosmith, Toto, Van Halen and Styx, are featured on a new album that late rock guitarist Ronnie Montrose began prior to his 2012 suicide death. 10X10, which will be released on September 29, is a project Montrose started with Styx bassist Rickey Phillips and KISS drummer Eric Singer, and that Phillips proceeded to finish with the help of various artists in honor of Ronnie.

The concept behind 10X10 was to put together a 10-track collection featuring a different lead singer on each song. Among the vocalists lending their talents to the album are ex-Van Halen/Montrose frontman Sammy Hagar, original Santana singer/keyboardist Gregg Rolie, Styx’s Tommy Shaw, founding Grand Funk Railroad frontman Mark Farner, ex-Deep Purple member Glenn Hughes and Mr. Big‘s Eric Martin.

Other musicians contributing to the record include Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford, Toto’s Steve Lukather, Def Leppard‘s Phil Collen, Edgar Winter, Rick Derringer, Styx’s Lawrence Gowan and Joe Bonamassa.

Regarding the material on the album, Phillips says, “[Montrose’s] songs still have the fire and angst of a young rebel, but with some added wisdom and foresight voiced in his own unique language of ‘guitar-speak.’ On 10X10, we hear Ronnie at the top of his game.”

10X10 will be available on CD, as a 180-gram vinyl LP and digitally.

In related news, expanded version of the first two albums by Ronnie’s eponymous band Montrose — the group’s 1973 self-titled effort and 1974’s Paper Money — will be released on October 13. The two-disc sets will include bonus discs featured previously unreleased live recordings, while the deluxe Montrose album also will contain unreleased demos. Hagar was the group’s frontman on both albums.

Here is the track list of 10X10:

“Heavy Traffic” — featuring Eric Martin & Dave Meniketti
“Love Is An Art” — featuring Edgar Winter & Rick Derringer
“Color Blind” — featuring Sammy Hagar & Steve Lukather
“Still Singin’ with the Band” — featuring Glenn Hughes, Phil Collen & Jimmy “Z” Zavala
“Strong Enough” — featuring Tommy Shaw
“Any Minute” — featuring Mark Farner & Ricky Phillips
“The Kingdom’s Come Undone” — featuring Ricky Phillips & Joe Bonamassa
“One Good Reason” — featuring Bruce Turgon & Brad Whitford
“Head On Straight” — featuring Davey Pattison & Marc Bonilla
“I’m Not Lying” — featuring Gregg Rolie, Tom Gimbel & Lawrence Gowan

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.