Dolly Records/RCA NashvilleDolly Parton will release her first album of original children’s music, I Believe in You, this fall, with all the proceeds going to her Imagination Library, which sends free books to kids all over the world.

The country-pop legend wrote all 14 of the tracks on the record, drawing inspiration from her large family both in East Tennessee and in Nashville.

“I have all my little nieces and nephews…and I always try to keep playhouses and treehouses and things where I play with them when they come to visit me,” she explains. “And usually when I write these children’s songs, I go up to the treehouse or sit there and kinda put myself back in their place, and I try to become a kid again.”

The Country Music Hall of Famer reveals that many of the songs on the album, like “Makin’ Fun Ain’t Funny” and “Chemo Hero,” were written with the next generation of Partons in mind.

“It’s so easy for me to tailor-make them to my little nieces and nephews that I’m with all the time,” Parton says. “I hear what their feelings are, how they think, the things they go through, so I try to write songs you know, to help them, too.”

I Believe in You features a new recording of Dolly’s classic “Coat of Many Colors,” as well as a bonus track with her reading the children’s book based on the song. You’ll be able to pick up a digital copy on September 29, with physical copies coming on October 13.

Here’s the complete track list for I Believe in You:

“I Believe in You”
“Coat of Many Colors”
“Together Forever”
“I Am a Rainbow”
“I’m Here”
“A Friend Like You”
“You Can Do It”
“You Gotta Be”
“Makin’ Fun Ain’t Funny”
“Chemo Hero”
“Brave Little Soldier”
Bonus track: Coat of Many Colors book read by Dolly Parton

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.