Spencer Grant/Getty ImagesThe PBS special featuring highlights of the Grammy Salute to Music Legends event celebrating the Recording Academy’s 2017 Special Merit Award winners will premiere Friday, October 13 at 9 p.m. as an episode of the network’s Great Performances series.

The show, which took place July 11 at the Beacon Theatre in New York, included star-studded musical tributes to Lifetime Achievement Award honorees Sly Stone and The Velvet Underground, among many others.

Among the evening’s many highlights was the tribute to Stone, which featured Living Colour guitarist Vernon Reid, lauded soul singer/songwriter Valerie Simpson and ex-Gap Band frontman Charlie Wilson. Dionne Warwick and ex-Stylistics singer Russell Thompkins Jr., meanwhile, were on hand to pay homage to acclaimed soul-disco producer Thom Bell, who was one of the recipients of the Recording Academy’s Trustees Award.

The Velvet Underground’s tribute featured performances by the influential rock band’s two surviving original members, John Cale and Maureen “Moe” Tucker.

The other Lifetime Achievement Award honorees celebrated at the 2017 Grammy Salute to Music Legends were jazz-blues legend Nina Simone, gospel powerhouse Shirley Caesar, jazz pianist Ahmad Jamal, and country legends Charley Pride and Jimmie Rodgers. The other Trustees Award winners honored at the event were record executives Mo Ostin and Ralph S. Peer.

Additional performers at the show included Rock & Roll Hall-of-Famer Randy Newman, as well as Dwight Yoakam and Andra Day.

Here are the honorees featured on the Grammy Salute to Music Legends special, followed by the performers saluting them:

Thom Bell
“You Make Me Feel Brand New” — Russell Thompkins Jr.
“Then Came You” — Dionne Warwick

Ahmad Jamal
“But Not for Me”/”Ahmad’s Blues”/”Poinciana” — Stanley Cowell

Nina Simone
“Mississippi Goddam” — Andra Day

Jimmie Rodgers
“Hobo Bill’s Last Ride”/”Mule Skinner Blues”/”T for Texas” — Dwight Yoakam

Ralph S. Peer
“Crazy Blues” — Catherine Russell
“The Great Pretender” — Russell Thompkins Jr.
“Georgia on My Mind” — Andra Day

The Velvet Underground
“I’m Waiting for the Man”/”Sunday Morning” — John Cale Band with Maureen “Moe” Tucker

Shirley Caesar
Medley: “You Name It”/”It’s Alright, It’s OK”/”You’re Next in Line for a Miracle”/”Satan, We’re Going to Tear Your Kingdom Down” — Kirk Franklin with Le’Andria Johnson
“Caught Up”/”Jesus, I Love Calling Your Name” — Shirley Caesar

Mo Ostin
“A Few Words in Defense of Our Country”/”I Think It’s Going to Rain Today” — Randy Newman

Charley Pride
“Is Anybody Goin’ to San Antone” — Neal McCoy
“Kiss an Angel Good Morning” — Charley Pride

Sly Stone
“I Want to Take You Higher”/”Everybody Is a Star”/”Sex Machine”/”Dance to the Music” — Charlie Wilson, Valerie Simpson, Vernon Reid

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.