BMGSoft Cell frontman Marc Almond will release a new solo album called Shadows and Reflections on September 22, made up mainly of covers of orchestral pop tunes and torch songs from the 1960s. Among the songs featured on the record are renditions of The Young Rascals‘ “How Can I Be Sure,” The Yardbirds‘ “Still I’m Sad,” Bobby Darin‘s “Not for Me,” and the Bobby Vinton classic “Blue on Blue,” which was penned by Burt Bacharach and Hal David.

Almond explains in a promo video for Shadows and Reflections that he imagined the album as “a soundtrack to an Italian ’60s film” about a man sitting alone in his luxury apartment as he listens to records and laments a broken romance.

“They’d all be songs about lost love and feeling quite miserable and alone,” the singer says. “‘Where did you go?’ ‘Why did I lose you?’ ‘What can I do without you?’ ‘My life’s finished.'”

Almond adds that Shadows and Reflections is “like a song cycle” that “starts in an apartment…ends in an apartment, and these songs in the middle are the soundtrack to this guy’s life that he has at the time of recovering from this lost love and that he can never get back.”

Marc, of course, is no stranger to covering songs from the 1960s about troubled romances. Soft Cell is best known for their 1981 hit synth-pop version of the mid-’60s soul tune “Tainted Love.”

Shadows and Reflections will be available on CD, on vinyl and an as a digital download.

Here’s the album’s full track list:

“Shadows and Reflections”
“I’m Lost Without You”
“How Can I Be Sure”
“Something Bad on My Mind”
“Blue on Blue”
“I Know You Love Me Not”
“From the Underworld”
“Still I’m Sad”
“Not for Me”
“All Thoughts of Time”
“The Shadow of Your Smile”
“No One to Say Good Night To”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.