Rhino Entertainment/Concord Music GroupA new three-CD compilation packed with classic soul songs by various artists who recorded for Memphis’ famed Stax Records label will be released on September 22. Soulsville U.S.A.: A Celebration of Stax is being issued as part of a yearlong campaign from Rhino Entertainment and Concord Music Group marking Stax’s 60th anniversary.

Among the many well-known tunes featured on the 60-track collection are Otis Redding‘s “(Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay” and “Try a Little Tenderness,” Sam & Dave‘s “Soul Man” and “Hold On! I’m Comin’,” Eddie Floyd‘s “Knock on Wood,” The Staple Singers‘ “I’ll Take You There” and Isaac Hayes‘ “Theme from Shaft.”

The track list, which spans from the early 1960s to the late ’70s, also includes songs by Booker T. & the MG’s, Carla Thomas, William Bell, Rufus Thomas, Albert King, The Dramatics, The Emotions, Jean Knight and Johnny Taylor.

The Soulsville U.S.A. package will feature new liner notes by respected music journalist Jeff Slate. The compilation is an update of the popular 2007 retrospective Stax 50: A 50th Anniversary Celebration.

Here is the upcoming compilation’s full track list:

Disc 1
The Veltones — “Fool in Love”
Carla Thomas — “Gee Whiz”
The Mar-Keys — “Last Night”
William Bell — “You Don’t Miss Your Water”
Booker T. & the MG’s — “Green Onions”
Rufus Thomas — “Walking the Dog”
Wendy Rene — “After Laughter (Comes Tears)”
Otis Redding — “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)”
The Astors — “Candy”
Sam & Dave — “You Don’t Know Like I Know”
The Mad Lads — “Don’t Have to Shop Around”
Carla Thomas — “Let Me Be Good to You”
Mable John — “Your Good Thing (Is About to End)”
Eddie Floyd — “Knock on Wood”
Sam & Dave — “Hold On! I’m Comin'”
Otis Redding — “Try a Little Tenderness”
Carla Thomas — “B-A-B-Y”
Booker T. & the MG’s — “Hip Hug-Her”
The Bar-Kays — “Soul Finger”
Otis & Carla — “Tramp”

Disc 2
Albert King — “Born Under a Bad Sign”
Sam & Dave — “Soul Man”
Otis Redding — “(Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay”
Eddie Floyd — “Big Bird”
Ollie & The Nightingales — “I Got a Sure Thing”
Booker T. & the MG’s — “Soul Limbo”
Linda Lyndell — “What a Man”
Judy Clay & William Bell — “Private Number”
Eddie Floyd — “I’ve Never Found a Girl (To Love Me Like You Do)”
The Staple Singers — “The Weight”
Johnnie Taylor — “Who’s Making Love”
Carla Thomas — “I Like What You’re Doing (To Me)”
William Bell — “I Forgot to Be Your Love”
Booker T. & the MG’s — “Time Is Tight”
Rufus Thomas — “Do the Funky Chicken”
The Emotions — “So I Can Love You”
Isaac Hayes — “Walk On By”
Johnnie Taylor & Carla Thomas — “Just Keep On Loving Me”
The Staple Singers — “Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom Boom)”
Rufus Thomas — “(Do the) Push and Pull (Part 1)”

Disc 3
Jean Knight — “Mr. Big Stuff”
Johnnie Taylor — “Jody’s Got Your Girl and Gone”
Isaac Hayes — “Never Can Say Goodbye”
The Dramatics — “Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get”
The Staple Singers — “Respect Yourself”
Isaac Hayes — “Theme from Shaft”
The Bar-Kays — “Son of Shaft”
Little Milton — “That’s What Love Will Make You Do”
The Soul Children — “Hearsay”
The Dramatics — “In the Rain”
Isaac Hayes — “Do Your Thing”
Frederick Knight — “I’ve Been Lonely for So Long”
The Staple Singers — “I’ll Take You There”
Mel & Tim — “Starting All Over Again”
Temprees — “Dedicated to the One I Love”
The Dramatics — “Hey You! Get Off My Mountain”
Johnnie Taylor — “Cheaper to Keep Her”
The Staple Singers — “If You’re Ready (Come Go with Me)”
The Soul Children — “I’ll Be the Other Woman”
Shirley Brown — “Woman to Woman”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.