atlantic recordsFans are about to hear Aretha Franklin in a whole new way.

In honor of the 50th anniversary of Franklin signing with Atlantic Records, Rhino will release A Brand New Me: Aretha Franklin with Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Due November 10, the 14-track disc pairs seminal recordings the young Queen of Soul made for Atlantic in the 1960s with new arrangements performed by The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

The orchestral recordings were done at legendary Abbey Road studios in London, with brand new backing vocals led by Grammy-winner Patti Austin.

Among the tracks refreshed with orchestral backing are Franklin’s chart-topping hits “Respect,””Think” and “Angel,” along with classics like “I Say a Little Prayer” and “A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like).”

A Brand New Me was produced by Nick Patrick and Don Reedman, who achieved worldwide success with their previous album I Can Dream: Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Reedman recalls, “I was 15 years old when a song came on the radio called ‘Rock A Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody.’ It blew me away; the power, the soul. The feeling that went through me got me hooked on Aretha and I have been ever since. To be able to make this album… is truly an honor.”

Here’s the track list for A Brand New Me: Aretha Franklin with the Royal Philharmonic:

“Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)”
“I Say A Little Prayer”
“Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)”
“A Brand New Me”
“A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like)”
“Border Song (Holy Moses)”
“Let It Be”
“People Get Ready”
“Oh Me Oh My (I’m A Fool For You Baby)”
“You’re All I Need To Get By”
“Son Of A Preacher Man”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.