Identity Records/The Fuel MusicJonathan Cain is stepping out with a Christmas album.

The longtime Journey keyboardist, co-writer of such hits as “Don’t Stop Believin’” and “Who’s Crying Now,” will release Unsung Noel on October 13. The disc features 10 new songs written by Cain, as well as several holiday classics.

Cain plays piano, keyboards and sings lead vocals on the project, also arranged and produced the album at his state-of-the art Addiction Sound Studios in Nashville.

He explains, “The music came to me over the course of two recent Journey tours, and I recorded the entire album during a 10-day break this spring. I wrote and arranged most of this album on the road in hotel rooms as we traveled from city to city.”

Cain adds, “This album is dedicated to the coming of Christ and the events in scripture that is the core of our Christian belief.”

Cain, who previously issued an album of Christian music titled What God Wants to Hear, says he’d been contemplating a Christmas album for years. He’s posted a preview trailer for Unsung Noel on his Facebook page, and promises tour dates soon.

Cain is also planning to publish a still-untitled memoir next spring that’ll detail his personal journey of faith, as well as his 36-year career with Journey.

Here’s the track list for Jonathan Cain’s Unsung Noel:

“This Is the Heart of Christmas”
“Star of Bethlehem”
“Angels We Have Heard on High”
“Joseph’s Pride”
“It’s Only Christmas When”
“Unsung Noel”
“You Shall Call His Name”
“Hail Mary”
“Oh Holy Night”
“You Came to Reign”
“Light of the World”
“The Night Love Came Down”
“Do You Hear What I Hear”

Comments are closed.