Verve/UMeAll Day Thumbsucker Revisited, a long-out-of-print 1995 compilation featuring artists who recorded for the eclectic Blue Thumb Records, has been reissued as a two-CD set in celebration of the defunct label’s upcoming 50th anniversary.

Among the many acts on the album are Ike & Tina Turner, The Pointer Sisters, ex-Traffic member Dave Mason and Leon Russell.

The reissue features 32 songs, including two bonus songs that didn’t appear on the original compilation. The first-ever digital version of All Day Thumbsucker Revisited will be released on November 10.

The compilation also features songs by T. Rex predecessor group Tyrannosaurus Rex, influential psychedelic-folk-rock band Love, Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks and blues greats Buddy Guy, John Mayall and Albert Collins.

Blue Thumb Records was co-founded in 1968 by veteran record executive Bob Krasnow and acclaimed producer Tommy LiPuma, who both sought to gather a stable of artists who reflected the diverse sounds heard album-oriented FM radio, which had just started to become popular. The label was active until 1978, but was revived in 1995 for several years.

Sadly, Krasnow and LiPuma died during the past year.

Here is the track list of All Day Thumbsucker Revisited reissue:

Disc One
“Only You Know and I Know” — Dave Mason
“The City” — Mark-Almond
“Put It Where You Want It” — The Crusaders
“A Song for You” — Leon Russell
“Stimela (Coaltrain)” — Hugh Masekela
“By the Light of Magical Moon” — Tyrannosaurus Rex
“Yes We Can Can” — The Pointer Sisters
“Darkness Darkness” — Philip Upchurch
“Son of Mirror Man – Mere Man” — Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band
“Sugar on the Line” — The Aynsley Dunbar Retaliation
“Little Mama” — Luis Gasca
“Canned Music” — Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks
“Riffin’ (a.k.a. A Motif Is Just a Riff)” — Buddy Guy, Junior Wells and Junior Mance
“I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” — Ike & Tina Turner
“Fat Jam” — Ben Sidran
“Southern Man” — Sylvester and the Hot Band

Disc Two
“Delta Lady” — Leon Russell
“Shiver ‘n Shake” — Albert Collins
“Shouldn’t Have Took More Than You Gave” — Dave Mason
“Blackbird” — Bossa Rio
“Ride a White Swan” — Tyrannosaurus Rex
“I Scare Myself” — Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks
“The Everlasting First” — Love
“The Frog” — Joao Donato
“Safe as Milk” — Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band
“Breezin'” — Gabor Szabo
“Sitting on the Outside” — John Mayall
“Images” — Sun Ra
“Bird’s Word” — The Last Poets
“Roger” — Ken Nordine
“How Long (Betcha’ Got a Chick on the Side)” — The Pointer Sisters
“So Far Away” — The Crusaders

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.