Courtesy SHOFThe nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2018 have been announced, and it’s a lengthy list, incorporating two categories: “Performing” and “Non-Performing” songwriters.

Among the performers, the nominees include Alice Cooper, John Mellencamp, Tom Waits, The Pretenders Chrissie Hynde, Mariah Carey, Tracy Chapman, reggae legend Jimmy Cliff, The Isley Brothers, Kool & the Gang, and rap icons N.W.A.

The non-performing songwriter nominees, and some of their biggest hits, include:

L. Russell Brown/Irwin Levine — “Tie A Yellow Ribbon,” “Knock Three Times,” “I’m Gonna Boogie Tonight,” “Say Has Anybody Seen My Sweet Gypsy Rose,” “I Woke Up In Love This Morning”

Mike Chapman — “Kiss You All Over, “Heart and Soul,” “Better Be Good to Me,” “Little Willy,” “Stumblin’ In”

Randy Goodrum — “You Needed Me,” “Bluer than Blue,” “I’ll Be Over You,” “Foolish Heart,” “Oh Sherrie”

Tony Macaulay — “Baby Now That I’ve Found You,” “Build Me Up Buttercup,” “Don’t Give Up on Us,” “Last Night I Couldn’t Get to Sleep At All,” “Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes)”

Denny Randell/Sandy Linzer — “A Lover’s Concerto,” “Let’s Hang On to What We’ve Got,” “Native New Yorker,” “Opus 17 (Don’t Worry ’bout Me),” “Workin’ My Way Back to You”

William “Mickey” Stevenson — “Beechwood 4-5789,” “Dancing in the Street,” “Devil with the Blue Dress”, “It Takes Two,” “Pride and Joy”

Allee Willis — “Boogie Wonderland,” “I’ll Be There for You,” “Neutron Dance,” “September,” “What Have I Done to Deserve This”

To be eligible for induction, a songwriter must have been working for a minimum of 20 years, and have a “notable catalog” of hits. Members have until December 17 to turn in their ballots. Winners will be inducted next year in a gala ceremony.

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.