Legacy RecordingsAs Toto prepares to launch its 40 Trips Around the Sun anniversary world tour in Europe this February, the band has announced plans to release a new, career-spanning compilation featuring three new songs in conjunction with the trek. 40 Trips Around the Sun is a 17-track collection that’s due out on February 9, 2018, and features remastered versions of many of the group’s best-known tunes, including “Hold the Line,” “Rosanna” and “Africa.”

Among the new songs is “Spanish Sea,” a tune that was built around an unfinished track Toto recorded during the sessions for its 1984 album Isolation that includes performances by late band mates Jeff and Mike Porcaro.

“[W]e had to re-write it including creating a new chorus,” guitarist Steve Lukather explains. “Thanks to modern tech we were able to play once again with not only our 20-something selves but with our dear brothers Jeff and Mike Porcaro reminding us just how deep their groove was. Bittersweet…”

Lukather adds that the tune is “classic Toto with an excellent solo.”

The compilation’s lead track also is a brand-new song, “Alone,” which fans will receive as a free download when they pre-order 40 Trips Around the Sun.

“We wanted to start with an ‘up’ song in terms of groove for the album,” Lukather explains of “Alone,” which you can listen to now on Toto’s VEVO YouTube channel.

The third new song is titled “Struck by Lightning,” which was written around an opening riff created by singer/keyboardist David Paich, who says the tune “is an all-time great!”

Toto’s 40th anniversary tour begins on February 11 in Helsinki, Finland, and currently is scheduled through an April 8 show in Glasgow, U.K.

Here’s the compilation’s full track list:

“Spanish Sea”
“I’ll Supply the Love”
“I’ll Be Over You”
“Stranger in Town”
“Struck by Lightning”
“Afraid of Love”
“I Won’t Hold You Back”
“Jake to the Bone”
“Stop Loving You”
“Hold the Line”
“George Porgy”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.