Roman RecordsAerosmith‘s Joe Perry will release a new solo album titled Sweetzerland Manifesto on January 19 that features a variety of guest collaborators, including vocal contributions from Cheap Trick‘s Robin Zander, ex-New York Dolls frontman David Johansen, and British blues-rock veteran Terry Reid. The 10-track collection features nine songs written or co-written by Perry, as well as a cover of the 1960s protest anthem “Eve of Destruction,” which Joe sings.

Sweetzerland Manifesto was executive produced by actor Johnny Depp, who plays guitar alongside Perry in Hollywood Vampires. Depp also played drums on Perry’s rendition of “Eve of Destruction.”

Zander sings on a tune called “Aye, Aye, Aye,” which he co-wrote with Perry, while Johansen and Reid lend their vocal and writing talents to three tracks each. Longtime Who touring drummer Zak Starkey plays drums on one of the songs featuring Reid — “I’ll Do Happiness.”

Joe’s sons Tony and Roman Perry appear on “Spanish Sushi,” an instrumental tune they produced and arranged. Their dad plays guitars and bass on the track, while Roman added synthesizer programming and Tony handled drum programming on it.

Sweetzerland Manifesto co-produced by Joe and veteran studio whiz Bruce Witkin, along with added help from longtime Aerosmith producer Jack Douglas. Douglas also co-wrote some of the tracks.

The record is Perry’s sixth solo studio effort — including his Joe Perry Project releases — and his first since 2009’s Have Guitar, Will Travel.

Here’s the full track list of Sweetzerland Manifesto:

“Rumble in the Jungle” (Instrumental)
“I’ll Do Happiness” — featuring Terry Reid
“Aye, Aye, Aye” — featuring Robin Zander
“I Wanna Roll” — featuring David Johansen
“Sick & Tired” — featuring Terry Reid
“Haberdasher Blues” — featuring David Johansen
“Spanish Sushi” (Instrumental)
“Eve of Destruction”
“I’m Going Crazy” — featuring David Johansen
“Won’t Let Me Go” — featuring Terry Reid

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.