Credit: Danny ClinchJackson Browne will receive the Les Paul Award at the 33rd annual NAMM Technical Excellence & Creativity (TEC) Awards, scheduled to take place on January 27, 2018, in Anaheim, California. The honor, named after late electric-guitar and multi-track recording pioneer Les Paul, recognizes people or institutions that have made a significant impact on the world of audio production and technology.

“Jackson Browne’s success as a singer, songwriter and guitarist has had a prolific impression on the music industry throughout his successful career,” says Michael Braunstein, executive director of the Les Paul Foundation, which presents the honor. “Like Les Paul, Jackson has never shied away from expressing his emotions or thoughts through his music. I have no doubt that Les would have liked to share a few jams with Jackson along the way.”

Also during the ceremony, the collective of session musicians known as The Section will be inducted into the NAMM TEC Hall of Fame. The Section, featuring guitarist Danny “Kootch” Kortchmar, keyboardist Craig Doerge, bassist Leland Sklar and drummer Russ Kunkel, became famous during the 1970s for touring and recording with such major artists as James Taylor, Carole King and Crosby, Stills and Nash. They also worked with Browne early in his career.

The TEC Awards will be held during the third day of the popular music-equipment trade show, The NAMM Show, which runs from January 25 to January 28. The awards recognize “outstanding achievement in audio technology and production.”

Among the 2018 nominees for awards in the Outstanding Creative Achievement categories are Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, U2 and Sting. Check out the full list of nominees at

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.