BMGFounding Genesis keyboardist Tony Banks continues his exploration of orchestral music on his latest solo album, Five, which will be released in the U.S. on February 23. The five-track collection is the 10th album that Banks has made outside his famous band and his third orchestral record, following 2004’s Seven: A Suite for Orchestra and 2012’s Six Pieces for Orchestra.

The new album is the product of various sessions at London’s Angel Studios combined with recordings done with the Czech National Symphony Orchestra and Choir in Prague, Czech Republic. Five was produced by Banks’ frequent collaborator Nick Davis, while the orchestra was conducted by veteran British orchestrator and conductor Nick Ingman, who has worked with David Bowie, Elton John, Eric Clapton and many other stars during his long career.

Banks played all the piano parts on and composed the five pieces featured on Five. The album was built around the epic lead track “Prelude to a Million Years,” which started out as a piece titled “Arpegg” that the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer was commissioned to write for the 2014 edition of the U.K.’s Cheltenham Music Festival. Banks rounded out the album with three more new compositions and an updated version of a piece he wrote while he was with Genesis that he renamed “Renaissance.”

You can listen to “Prelude to a Million Years” now on YouTube.

Five can be pre-ordered now, and will be available on CD, as a two-LP vinyl set and digitally. In addition, special bundles that include a signed sheet music folio are being sold exclusively at Banks’ official online store.

Here’s the album’s track list:

“Prelude to a Million Years”
“Ebb and Flow”
“Autumn Sonata”

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.