Credit: Alex HugganJoe Perry‘s new solo album, Sweetzerland Manifesto, gets released Friday. Perry celebrated the album’s arrival with a star-studded concert this past Tuesday at the Roxy Theatre in West Hollywood, California, that included unannounced appearances from Slash and Johnny Depp.

At different points in the show, Perry was joined by the guest vocalists who contributed to Sweetzerland Manifesto — British blues-rock veteran Terry Reid, David Johansen and Cheap Trick‘s Robin Zander.

Joe’s backing group for the evening included Stone Temple PilotsDean and Robert DeLeo on guitar and bass, respectively, and Extreme singer Gary Cherone, who took on Steven Tyler‘s parts on the Aerosmith material that was played early in the concert.

Black Crowes frontman Chris Robinson also was on hand to sing “Fortunate One,” a tune that wasn’t recorded in time to make it onto the album’s initial release, but will be included on a deluxe vinyl version due out later.

Depp, who executive-produced Sweetzerland Manifesto and played drums on one track, sat in on rhythm guitar for part of the set.

The concert ended with a pair of songs that Aerosmith famously covered — The Beatles‘ “Come Together” and the 1950s blues gem “Train Kept A Rollin’.” For “Come Together,” Zander, Reid, Robinson and Cherone took turns on lead vocals. Slash joined Perry and company for the finale, which reports ended with Joe smashing his guitar.

“Everything was screaming; the amps were going. I didn’t know what else to do,” Joe told the magazine after the show. “All of a sudden my guitar was in pieces.”

As previously reported, Sweetzerland Manifesto is a 10-track collection featuring nine songs written or co-written by Perry, as well as a cover of the 1960s protest anthem “Eve of Destruction.”

Here’s the set list from Joe’s album-release show:

“Let the Music Do the Talking”
“Toys in the Attic”
“Pandora’s Box”
“Shakin’ My Cage”
“I’ll Do Happiness” — with Terry Reid
“Sick & Tired” — with Terry Reid
“Won’t Let Me Go” — with Terry Reid
“Fortunate One” — with Chris Robinson
“Spanish Sushi”
“Eve of Destruction” — with Johnny Depp
“I Wanna Roll” — with David Johansen and Johnny Depp
“I’m Goin’ Crazy” — with David Johansen
“Countryside Blvd.” — with Robin Zander
“Aye, Aye, Aye” — with Robin Zander
“Rockin’ Train”
“Come Together” — all guests
“Train Kept A Rollin'” — with Slash and Johnny Depp

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.