Eagle Rock EntertainmentA new concert video and album featuring The Moody Blues performing their classic concept album Days of Future Passed with accompaniment from a full orchestra will be released March 23. Days of Future Passed Live — which will be available on DVD, Blu-ray and as a two-CD set — was recorded last summer in Toronto during the first leg of the band’s tour celebrating the 50th anniversary of the influential album.

The show begins with The Moody Blues playing a selection of memorable songs from throughout their long career, including “I’m Just a Singer (in a Rock and Roll Band),” “Your Wildest Dreams,” “I Know You’re Out There Somewhere,” and “The Story in Your Eyes.” The band, joined by Toronto’s World Festival Orchestra, then launches into the entire Days of Future Passed, including the enduring songs “Tuesday Afternoon” and “Nights in White Satin.” Actor Jeremy Irons makes a pre-recorded guest appearance to recite the two poems featured at the beginning and the end of the album.

To close out the concert, The Moodies perform two more of their hits, “Question” and “Ride My See-Saw.”

The Days of Future Passed Live DVD and Blu-ray also include a bonus feature called Remembering Days of Future Passed that boasts new interviews with Moody Blues bandmates Justin Hayward, John Lodge and Graeme Edge sharing their recollections of making the album.

The Moody Blues currently are winding down a 2018 U.S. leg of their Days of Future Passed 50th Anniversary Tour with a Las Vegas residency at the Wynn resort that wraps up on January 31. Then, on April 14, the band will be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland.

Here’s the CD set’s track list:

CD 1
Part One: The Moody Blues in Concert
“I’m Just a Singer (in a Rock and Roll Band)”
“The Voice”
“Steppin’ in a Slide Zone”
“Say It with Love”
“Your Wildest Dreams”
“Isn’t Life Strange”
“I Know You’re Out There Somewhere”
“The Story in Your Eyes”

CD 2
Part Two: Days of Future Passed Live
“The Day Begins”
“Morning Glory” — with Jeremy Irons
“Dawn (Prelude)”
“Dawn Is a Feeling”
“The Morning (Prelude)”
“Another Morning”
“Lunch Break (Prelude)”
“Peak Hour”
“Tuesday Afternoon (Forever Afternoon)”
“Evening (Time to Get Away)”
“The Sunset”
“Twilight (Prelude)”
“Twilight Time”
“Late Lament” — with Jeremy Irons
“Nights in White Satin”
“The Night (Finale)”

“Ride My See-Saw”

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.