RCA/Legacy RecordingsThe soundtrack to a new two-part documentary titled Elvis Presley: The Searcher, premiering on HBO on April 14, will be released on Friday, April 6. The album will be available as a single CD, a two-LP vinyl collection and a deluxe three-CD box set.

The three-hour film takes an in-depth look at Elvis Presley‘s recording career and the profound influence he had on other music artists. The movie features rare archival footage of Elvis; interviews with notable musicians including Bruce Springsteen and the late Tom Petty; and an original score by Pearl Jam‘s Mike McCready.

Elvis Presley: The Searcher was directed by Thom Zimny, who previously worked on a variety of Springsteen documentaries, including 2015’s The Ties That Bind.

The single-CD and vinyl versions of The Searcher‘s soundtrack feature 18 Presley tracks, including hits, rehearsal performances, rare alternate takes and more. The box set takes a deeper look at Presley’s music, with a total of 45 Elvis recordings, as well as a bonus disc featuring songs by various blues, folk and country artists who influenced the rock ‘n’ roll pioneer.

The third CD on the deluxe collection also includes two selections from McCready’s score for the film, Tom Petty and Heartbreakers‘ version of the 1964 Presley single “Wooden Heart,” and a recording of Elvis’ mom Gladys singing “Home Sweet Home.”

The box set comes packaged with a 40-page hardcover book featuring rare photos, liner notes by author and musician Warren Zanes, and a note penned by Zimny.

Elvis Presley: The Searcher premieres at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, April 14.

Here’s the track list of the deluxe box set:

Disc 1
“Trouble/Guitar Man”*
“My Baby Left Me”*
“Baby, What You Want Me to Do”
“Old Shep”
“That’s When Your Heartaches Begin”
“That’s All Right”*
“Blue Moon of Kentucky”
“Fool, Fool, Fool”
“Tweedlee Dee”
“Baby Let’s Play House”*
“Good Rockin’ Tonight”
“Trying to Get to You”
“Blue Moon”
“When It Rains It Pours”
“Blue Christmas”
“Heartbreak Hotel”*
“Lawdy, Miss Clawdy”*
“Money Honey”
“Hound Dog”*
“(There’ll Be) Peace in the Valley (for Me)”
“Farther Along”
“Mona Lisa”*
“Hide Thou Me”
“Loving You” (end title take 16)
“Lonely Man” (solo version)
“Power of My Love’

Disc 2
“Milky White Way”*
“A Mess of Blues”
“Fame and Fortune”
“Love Me Tender/Witchcraft” (duet with Frank Sinatra)
“Like a Baby”*
“Are You Lonesome Tonight?”*
“It’s Now or Never”*
“Wooden Heart”
“Swing Down Sweet Chariot”
“Reconsider Baby”
“Bossa Nova Baby”
“C’mon Everybody”
“Tomorrow Is a Long Time”*
“Take My Hand, Precious Lord”
“Run On”
“Baby What You Want Me to Do”
“Suspicious Minds” (take 6)*
“Baby Let’s Play House” (rehearsal)
“Words” (rehearsal)
“That’s All Right”
“Never Been to Spain”
“An American Trilogy”
“You Gave Me a Mountain”
“Burning Love” (rehearsal version)
“Separate Ways” (rehearsal version)*
“Hurt” (take 5)*
“If I Can Dream”*

Disc 3
“Dissolution 2″” — Mike McCready
“Satisfied” — The Blackwood Brothers
“That’s All Right” — Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup
“She May Be Yours but She Comes to See Me Sometimes” — Joe Hill Louis
“Mystery Train” — Little Junior’s Blue Flames
“Smokestack Lightning” — Howlin’ Wolf
“Rock-a-My Soul” — The Blackwood Brothers
“Just Walkin’ in the Rain” — The Prisonaires
“Rocket 88” — Jackie Brenston and His Delta Cats
“Write Me a Letter” — The Ravens
“Blue Moon of Kentucky” — Bill Monroe
“Ain’t That Right” — Eddie Snow
“Just Walkin’ in the Rain” — Johnnie Ray
“Lawdy Miss Clawdy” — Lloyd Price
“Home Sweet Home” — Gladys Presley
“Blowin’ in the Wind” — Odetta
“Tomorrow Is a Long Time” — Odetta
“The Weight” — The Staple Singers
“Heartbreak Hotel” — The Orlons
“Wooden Heart” — Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
“Rebound” — Mike McCready

* = also featured on single-CD and two-LP soundtrack.

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.