Esoteric RecordingsLate Yes bassist Chris Squire‘s 1975 debut solo album, Fish Out of Water, will be reissued as a limited-edition box set on April 27. The expanded collection will feature two CDs, two DVDs, a vinyl LP and two seven-inch vinyl singles.

Squire recorded Fish Out of Water while Yes took a hiatus so that the band’s members could focus on various side projects. Among the musicians who contributed to the album were ex-Yes/King Crimson drummer Bill Bruford, then-Yes keyboardist Patrick Moraz, founding King Crimson sax player Mel Collins and Andrew Pryce Jackman, an arranger who’d played with Chris in his pre-Yes group The Syn.

The Fish Out of Water box set’s first CD features a new stereo mix of the album, while the second CDs boasts the original 1975 mix, as well as single versions of the tracks “Lucky Seven” and “Silently Falling,” and two songs that Squire recorded as a duo with Yes drummer Alan White and issued as a 1981 Christmas single.

One of the DVDs in the deluxe package features three high-res audio mixes of the disc, while the other DVD boasts video content related to the album, including a 1975 promotional film and 2006 interview with Squire. The box set also includes a 180-gram vinyl LP of the record in a gatefold sleeve; and two seven-inch singles featuring the single versions “Lucky Seven” and “Silently Falling” and the Squire-White tunes, both housed in picture sleeves.

Also included with the collection is a 36-page book containing an essay by prog-rock writer Sid Smith and exclusive interviews with Bruford, Moraz and others.

A two-CD version of the Fish Out of Water reissue also will be available.

Here is the track list of the box set:

Disc One: CD — The New Stereo Mix
“Hold Out Your Hand”
“You by My Side”
“Silently Falling”
“Lucky Seven”
“Safe (Canon Song)”

Disc Two: CD — The Original 1975 Mix
“Hold Out Your Hand”
“You by My Side”
“Silently Falling”
“Lucky Seven”
“Safe (Canon Song)”

Bonus Tracks
“Lucky Seven” (Single Version)
“Silently Falling” (Single Version)
“Run with the Fox” — Chris Squire & Alan White
“Return of the Fox” — Chris Squire & Alan White

Disc Three: DVD-Audio
–The New 5.1 Surround Sound Mix (96 kHz/24-bit)
–The New Stereo Mix (96 kHz/24-bit)
–Re-Mastered Original Stereo Mix (96 kHz/24-bit)

Disc Four: DVD — Visual Content
Fish Out of Water 1975 promotional film featuring “Hold Out Your Hand” and “You by My Side”
–2006 interview with Chris Squire by Jon Kirkman
–2006 Fish Out of Water audio commentary with Chris Squire

Disc Five: LP
–180-gram gatefold vinyl LP with poster

Disc Six: 7″ Single
“Lucky Seven” (Tom Dowd Edit)/”Silently Falling” (Single Version)

Disc Seven: 7″ Single
“Run with the Fox”/”Return of the Fox” — Chris Squire and Alan White

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.