Reprise RecordsNeil Young recently announced on his Neil Young Archives website that he’d soon be releasing a new archival album titled Roxy — Tonight’s the Night Live, and now full details about the record have been unveiled. The album, which was culled from a trio of September 1973 shows at the then-new venue The Roxy in West Hollywood, California, will initially be released as a limited-edition two-LP vinyl set in conjunction with Record Store Day 2018 on Saturday, April 21.

Standard-vinyl, CD and digital versions of Roxy will be issued the following Tuesday, April 24.

Young scheduled the concerts after completing the initial sessions for what became his classic 1975 album Tonight’s the Night. His band at the time included Nils Lofgren, Ben Keith and the Crazy Horse rhythm section of Billy Talbot and Ralph Molina. At the shows, Neil played renditions of all the tunes he’d recorded for Tonight’s the Night, as well as “Walk On,” which became the lead track of his 1974 album, On the Beach.

The vinyl editions of Roxy will feature three sides of music, plus an etching on the fourth side. The Record Store Day version of the LP will come packaged with an exclusive print of Young and his band onstage at The Roxy.

Young recently reported that another live album called Alchemy is in the works, which will feature high-resolution performances from Crazy Horse’s 2012-2013 Alchemy tour recorded in Europe, Australia and Canada.

Here’s the full track list of the vinyl version of Roxy — Tonight’s the Night Live:

Side 1
“Tonight’s the Night”
“Mellow My Mind”
“World on a String”

Side 2
“Speakin’ Out”
“New Mama”
“Roll Another Number (for the Road)”

Side 3
“Tired Eyes”
“Tonight’s the Night (Part II)”
“Walk On”

Side 4
Etched artwork

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.