Legacy RecordingsVan Morrison just keeps churning out new music. The legendary singer/songwriter will release You’re Driving Me Crazy, his third studio album in just seven months, on April 27.

The 15-track collection is a collaboration with acclaimed Hammond organ and trumpet player Joey DeFrancesco, and features renditions of various blues and jazz standards, as well as new versions of tunes from Morrison’s back catalog. Among the latter are “Have I Told You Lately,” “The Way Young Lovers Do,” “Magic Time” and “Celtic Swing.”

The upcoming album’s title track, a cover of song composed in 1930 by Walter Donaldson, is available now via streaming services, and you also can listen to it a Morrison’s official VEVO YouTube channel.

DeFrancesco emerged on the jazz scene in the late 1980s as a teenager, and has collaborated with such famous musicians as Miles Davis, Ray Charles, Bette Midler, David Sanborn, Arturo Sandoval, Larry Coryell, Jimmy Smith and John McLaughlin.

You’re Driving Me Crazy is a follow-up to Morrison’s Versatile, which was released in December 2017, just three months after Van’s previous studio effort, Roll with the Punches.

In advance of the new record’s arrival, a limited-edition seven-inch vinyl single featuring two of the album’s tracks — “Close Enough for Jazz” and “The Things I Used To Do” will be issued on Saturday, April 21, as part of the 2018 Record Store Day campaign.

Here’s the full track list of You’re Driving Me Crazy, along with the composer or composers of each song:

“Miss Otis Regrets” (Cole Porter)
“Hold It Right There” (Dossie Terry, William Gray, Eddie Vinson)
“All Saints Day” (Van Morrison)
“The Way Young Lovers Do” (Van Morrison)
“The Things I Used to Do” (Eddie Jones)
“Travellin’ Light” (John Mercer, James Mundy, James Young)
“Close Enough for Jazz” (Van Morrison)
“Goldfish Bowl” (Van Morrison)
“Evening Shadows” (Van Morrison / Acker Bilk)
“Magic Time” (Van Morrison)
“You’re Driving Me Crazy” (Walter Donaldson)
“Everyday I Have the Blues” (Peter Chatman)
“Have I Told You Lately” (Van Morrison)
“Sticks and Stones” (Titus Turner)
“Celtic Swing” (Van Morrison)

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.