Credit: Kimberly AdamisAnn Wilson recently announced that she planned to release a new solo album this summer with the working title Songs for the Living: Vol. 1. Now, the Heart frontwoman has revealed the record’s official name: Immortal.

The singer shared the news during the latest installment of a weekly video blog about the album that she’s been posting on her official YouTube channel.

In the same video, Wilson explains that the album “is a collection of songs by artists who have recently passed, within the last three or four years or so. And they are gone but not forgotten.” She also reveals that one of the songs she’s recorded for Immortal is the Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers tune “Luna,” which appeared on the group’s self-titled 1976 debut.

Speaking about Tom Petty, who died this past October, Ann says he “was always really a big influence on me. From the very beginning in the late 1970s, I thought that his band was really original and sexy and cute and smart, and just a really good rock band.”

She also reports that Gov’t Mule/ex-Allman Brothers Band member Warren Haynes played guitar on the track.

“[Haynes is] a really fine musician, really soulful player,” says Wilson. “And my band really hits this sultry, unhurried, deep groove.”

In previously installments of her video blog, Ann discussed three other tunes that will be featured on Immortal: Lesley Gore‘s “You Don’t Own Me,” Amy Winehouse‘s “Back to Black” and The Eagles‘ “Life in the Fast Lane.” Haynes also contributed to “You Don’t Own Me.”

Ann continues to work on Immortal in Los Angeles. You can pre-ordered an autographed copy of the album at

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.