Warner Bros. RecordsLast June, ZZ Top released a box set titled Cinco: The First Five LPs, which, obviously, featured vinyl versions of the Texas trio’s early albums. Now, the blues-rock legends are set to issue a follow-up collection, Cinco No. 2: The Second Five LPs, which gathers together remastered vinyl editions of the five albums that the band released from 1979 through 1990.

Available on June 1, the new box set features 180-gram vinyl versions of 1979’s Degüello, 1981’s El Loco, 1983’s Eliminator, 1985’s Afterburner and 1990’s Recycler.

Degüello reached #24 on the Billboard 200, and has sold more than 1 million copies in the U.S. It includes the group’s cover of Sam & Dave‘s soul classic “I Thank You,” which broke into the top 40 of Billboard‘s Hot 100 chart in 1980, as well as the classic-rock radio staple “Cheap Sunglasses.”

El Loco hit #17 on the Billboard 200, and has sold over 500,000 copies in the States. It features such gems as “Tube Snake Boogie” and “Pearl Necklace.”

Eliminator is the album that catapulted ZZ Top to superstardom. It includes the group’s first top 10 single, “Legs,” as well as the enduring hits “Gimme All Your Lovin'” and “Sharp Dressed Man.” After peaking at #9 on the Billboard 200, the album went on to sell more than 10 million copies in the States.

Afterburner was another smash, reaching #4 on the Billboard 200, and yielding the top 10 hit “Sleeping Bag.” The album has sold over 5 million copies in the U.S.

Recycler peaked at #6 on the Billboard 200, and featured the rock-chart hits “Doubleback,” “Concrete and Steel” and “My Head’s in Mississippi.” It’s sold over 1 million copies.

Here are the track lists of the albums featured in the box set:


Side One
“I Thank You”
“She Loves My Automobile”
“I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide”
“Manic Mechanic”

Side Two
“Dust My Broom”
“Lowdown on the Street”
“Hi Fi Mama”
“Cheap Sunglasses”
“Esther Be the One”

El Loco

Side One
“Tube Snake Boogie”
“I Wanna Drive You Home”
“Ten Foot Pole”
“Don’t Tease Me”

Side Two
“It’s So Hard”
“Pearl Necklace”
“Groovy Little Hippie Pad”
“Heaven, Hell or Houston”
“Party on the Patio”


Side One
“Gimme All Your Lovin'”
“Got Me Under Pressure”
“Sharp Dressed Man”
“I Need You Tonight”
“I Got the Six”

Side Two
“TV Dinners”
“Dirty Dog”
“If I Could Flag Her Down”
“Bad Girl”


Side One
“Sleeping Bag”
“Woke Up with Wood”
“Rough Boy”
“Can’t Stop Rockin'”

Side Two
“Planet of Women”
“I Got the Message”
“Velcro Fly”
“Dipping Low (In the Lap of Luxury)”


Side One
“Concrete and Steel”
“Penthouse Eyes”
“Tell It”
“My Head’s in Mississippi”

Side Two
“Decision Or Collision”
“Give It Up”
“2000 Blues”
“Burger Ma”

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.