Legacy RecordingsKinks frontman Ray Davies has unveiled complete details about the planned sequel to his 2017 concept album, Americana, which was inspired by his 2013 memoir of the same name.

Our Country: Americana Act II is a 19-track collection that will be released on June 29 on CD, as a two-LP vinyl set and digitally. Like the first Americana album, Our Country features U.S. alt-country veterans The Jayhawks and Ray’s longtime guitarist Bill Shanley, while various other U.K. musicians also contribute to the record.

Both albums focus on Davies’ reflections on America and its culture, as well as his experiences touring the country. “Our Country follows my journey across America, through endless tours not just to reclaim The Kinks’ career, but to rediscover the country that offered me my earliest inspirations,” the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer explains.

The album features 16 new original tunes and three re-imagined versions of older Davies compositions: “Oklahoma USA,” which first appeared on The Kinks’ 1971 album Muswell Hillbillies; “The Real World,” from Ray’s 2007 solo effort, Working Man’s Café; and “The Getaway,” which originally appeared on Davies’ 2006 record, Other People’s Lives.

A video trailer for Our Country has been posted at Davies’ VEVO YouTube channel. In the clip, Ray notes, “I think people who like the first album understand where it’s going. Album two is what happens when you get there.”

In advance of Our Country‘s release, you also can check out the title track now at Davies’ VEVO YouTube channel. The song is now available for download and streaming; Our Country can be pre-ordered now.

In related news, Davies is working on a theater and film piece based on Americana and Our Country.

Here is Our Country‘s track list:

“Our Country”
“The Invaders” (spoken word)
“Back in the Day”
“Oklahoma U.S.A.”
“Bringing Up Baby”
“The Getaway”
“The Take”
“We Will Get There”
“The Real World”
“A Street Called Hope”
“The Empty Room”
“Calling Home”
“Louisiana Sky”
“March of the Zombies”
“The Big Weird”
“Tony and Bob”
“The Big Guy”
“Muswell Kills”

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.