Eddie Wolfl; Myrna SuarezTonight in New York City, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers will present what its calling a “once-in-a-century” award tonight to Stevie Wonder, Billy Joel, Joan Baez, Garth Brooks and composer Stephen Sondheim.

At a ceremony at the Waldorf Astoria hotel, those artists luminaries all will receive the ASCAP Centennial Award, which is given “in recognition of their incomparable accomplishments in their respective music genres and beyond.” On hand to help pay tribute to them will be Sting, Steely Dan‘s Donald Fagen, Motown founder Berry Gordy, Bill Withers, Valerie Simpson of Ashford & Simpson fame, Gloria Estefan, Tony Bennett and country star Trisha Yearwood, among others.

This will be the first of two major honors Joel is receiving this week: On Wednesday, he’ll be in Washington, D.C., to accept the Gershwin Prize for Popular Song from the Library of Congress.

Follow –ABCNewsRadio
Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Comments are closed.