Robert Hunter and Jerry Garcia (Credit: Jay Blakesberg)Late Grateful Dead frontman Jerry Garcia and his longtime lyricist Robert Hunter, late blues legend Willie Dixon, and pop star Cyndi Lauper among the artists who’ve been chosen for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame this year. The honorees will be saluted at the organization’s 46th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner, which is scheduled for June 8 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Also being recognized at the ceremony will be country star Toby Keith, contemporary pop and rock songwriter Linda Perry, and country hitmaker Bobby Braddock.

Garcia and Hunter were responsible for most of The Grateful Dead’s best-known songs, including “Uncle John’s Band,” “Casey Jones,” “Ripple,” “Alabama Getaway,” and “Touch of Grey.” Dixon is known as “the father of modern Chicago blues” and his compositions, including “Hoochie Coochie Man” and “I Just Want to Make Love to You,” influenced and inspired such rock artists as The Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, The Kinks and Led Zeppelin. Lauper, meanwhile, co-wrote many of her own classic pop hits, including “She Bop,” “Time After Time,” and “Change of Heart.”

“Our 2015 lineup of inductees represents the rich diversity of American musical styles — rock, country, blues and pop — that have captivated the world over the past six decades,” says Songwriters Hall of Fame President Linda Moran. “Each one of these brilliant music creators have written instantly recognizable classics, songs that are both of their time and timeless.”

Additional special award honorees also will be acknowledged at the ceremony, and will be announced soon. Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame gala start at $1,250, and can be purchased through Buckley Hall Events by calling 914-579-1000.

Follow @ABCNewsRadio
Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.