Live Nation EntertainmentKISS will be presented with ASCAP’s prestigious Founders Award at the performing-rights organization’s 32nd annual Pop Music Awards. The honor recognizes songwriters who have made noteworthy contributions to the music industry by inspiring and influencing other artists to create music.

Previous Founders Award recipients include such notable music luminaries as Paul McCartney, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Billy Joel, James Taylor, Rod Stewart, Carly Simon, Jackson Browne, Joni Mitchell, Steely Dan, Neil Young, Ashford & Simpson, Burt Bacharach & Hal David, Heart‘s Ann & Nancy Wilson, Aerosmith‘s Steven Tyler & Joe Perry, Tom Petty and Patti Smith.

As previously reported, The Doobie Brothers also will receive a major honor at this year’s Pop Music Awards, the Voice of Music Award, which is presented to an artist or a composer who has created music that “gives voice to the spirit of a generation.”

ASCAP’s 32nd annual Pop Music Awards, which will salute the songwriters and publishers of the most frequently performed songs of 2014, will be held on April 29 at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.

Follow @ABCNewsRadio
Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.