Credit: Bradley QuinnVan Morrison has written many songs that are considered modern-day standards, so it’s not surprising that he’s been chosen to receive the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s highest honor: The Johnny Mercer Award. Morrison will be presented with the award at the organization’s 46th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner, scheduled for June 18 at New York City’s Marriott Marquis Hotel.

The Johnny Mercer Award is given to a songwriter or songwriting team already inducted into the Hall of Fame, but whose body of work is of such high quality and impact that it upholds the legacy of Johnny Mercer, the lyricist for pop standards including “Moon River,” “Hooray for Hollywood,” “Summer Wind,” “Satin Doll,” and many other classic tunes.

“We are thrilled to be honoring the songwriter who has combined Celtic fire with rhythm & blues in an unforgettable way,” says Songwriters Hall of Fame President Linda Moran. “Van Morrison and his songs have been a powerful cultural force on both sides of the Atlantic for five decades.”

Previous Mercer Award recipients include Paul Simon, Elton John and Bernie Taupin, Billy Joel, Stevie Wonder, Carole King, Smokey Robinson, Phil Collins, Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, HollandDozierHolland, and Jimmy Webb.

Last month, Morrison released his 35th studio album, Duets: Re-Working the Catalogue. The collection features new versions of some of Van’s lesser-known tunes that he recorded with such stars as Steve Winwood, Mark Knopfler, Natalie Cole, Mavis Staples, George Benson, Simply Red‘s Mick Hucknall, and the late Bobby Womack.

As previously reported, this year’s Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees include the Grateful Dead songwriting team of Robert Hunter and Jerry Garcia, as well as Cyndi Lauper, blues great Willie Dixon, country star Toby Keith, and pop-rock hitmaker Linda Perry.

Follow @ABCNewsRadio
Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.