Al Soluri/KISS Catalog Ltd.; Jim SheaPerforming-rights organization ASCAP’s 32nd annual Pop Music Awards ceremony is scheduled to take place tonight at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles. As previously reported, KISS and The Doobie Brothers, respectively, will receive ASCAP’s prestigious Founders Award and Voice of Music Award at the event.

Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl will present KISS’ Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley with the Founders Award, which recognizes songwriters who have made noteworthy contributions to the music industry by inspiring and influencing other artists to create music. As for The Doobies, current longtime members Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons and John McFee, along with ex-singer/keyboardist Michael McDonald will be on hand to accept the Voice of Music Award, which is presented to an artist or composer who has created music that “gives voice to the spirit of a generation.”

Meanwhile, founding Bon Jovi guitarist Richie Sambora and his current collaborator, Australian guitar whiz Orianthi, are among the musicians who will perform at the ceremony. The event also will honor the songwriters and publishers of the most frequently performed songs of 2014. Among the major categories acknowledged at the gala are Songwriter of the Year, Song of the Year, Publisher of the Year and Independent Publisher of the Year.

Follow @ABCNewsRadio
Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.